Tags

, , ,

Things have just been stupid, really.  Stupidly busy, stupidly fast, faster than I’ve had the chance to talk about.  I’ve barely had time to keep up with it all even on Twitter, let alone the wordier, more sedate little space of my poor neglected blog.

Which is a pity, because I’ve been busy doing some stuff I’m actually pretty excited about.  Time to share some of the excitement here.  Let’s see if I can make you feel it too.

What do you think?  I don’t know that I’ve ever been in a book that’s had a book trailer before.  I’m quite certain I’ve never been in a glamorous limited-run hardcover with a slipcase, colour plates and whatnot.  I feel like I should have worn white gloves just to paste that YT link in.

That shiny, shiny version is a limited run for the hardcore collectors (although if you’re one of those, then you won’t have needed me to tell you this is about to come on sale).  There will be a standard-format version of the book along presently, and if you go through that link you can grab a short extract of one of Dan’s pieces for it right now (epub or mobi formats – no PDF, I’m not sure why.)

Enough logistics.  Let’s talk about the stories.

Apart from my own, I’ve read two of the other entries.  Nik Vincent’s “The Fissure” is a creepy piece about how hard it is to just wall off a primordial force like Chaos, and what happens when you try.  Aaron Dembski-Bowden’s “Arnogaur” uses some beautifully poised writing and careful contrasts to show the full, frightening power and brutality of his inhuman protagonist.  Those, for a start, are great company to be keeping.  It’s reassuring.

I say “reassuring” because my own story for the collection, a novella of the Adeptus Mechanicus called “The Inheritor King”, had a very troubled creation – I think it was the toughest, most challenging thing I’ve ever had to write.  What’s weird is that I still don’t fully understand why it was so hard: I understood what I wanted the story to do, I already had a lot of it laid down from planning the story it springs off (it’s a sequel to “The Headstone and the Hammerstone Kings” in the original Sabbat Worlds anthology), I had an enemy that was great fun to plan, imagine and write and a protagonist I liked immensely.  And yet…

…well, I might go into the details another time.  What’s relevant here is that when I finally dragged the story out of my brain my beta-readers loved it, the BL editors loved it, Dan and Nik both read it and loved it, and I’m very happy to know that all that strife was worth it and I’ve managed to create something that these folks think deserves a place in such a cool book.

Plenty more to talk about, but that’ll do for now.  Go do something cool for your weekend.  Tell ’em I said you could.

